Has a faculty member:

  • Made a difference in how you view the world?

  • Improved your understanding of challenging material?

  • Changed or reinforced your career direction?

  • Been a mentor or role model for you?

If so, you may wish to nominate that faculty member for one of the prestigious Donna B. Hamilton Teaching Awards.

photo collage of Dr. Maring and Dr. Tomlinson with students

The deadline for submitting nominations is March 31 at 5 p.m.

Based on undergraduate student nominations, the Office of Undergraduate Studies recognizes two faculty members for excellence in teaching each year: one faculty member teaching in an Undergraduate Studies Program, and one faculty member teaching in a General Education Program. The two recognized faculty will receive $1,000 cash awards and will be acknowledged in a ceremony held at the end of each Spring semester.

teaching award trophy

About the Awards

The awards are named in honor of Donna B. Hamilton, former Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Dean for Undergraduate Studies. A Professor Emerita in the English department and previous Associate Dean in the College of Arts and Humanities, Dr. Hamilton was the 2015 recipient of the President's Medal.

For General Education

2022 — Dr. Tracy Tomlinson
2021 — Michael Galczynski
Keystone Instructor, A. James Clark School of Engineering
2020 — Peter Leone
2019 — Lenea Stocker
Chemistry and Biochemistry
2018 — John Buchner
Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics
2017 — Douglas Kern
2016 — Randy Ontivero English
2015 — Patricia Shields
Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics
2014 — Melissa Hayes-Gehrke
2013 — Ronald Luna
2012 — Ronald A. Yaros
Philip Merrill College of Journalism
2011 — Susan Dwyer
2010 — Victoria-Maria MacDonald
Curriculum and Instruction

Past Winners

For Office of Undergraduate Studies Programs

2022 — Dr. Elisabeth Maring
Program Director of Global Public Health in College Park Scholars
2021 — Jessica Lu
Associate Director of Design Cultures & Creativity
2020 — Perla Guerrero
American Studies and U.S. Latina/o Studies
2019 — LTC Larry B Rentz, Jr.
Military Science, Army ROTC Program
2018 — Julie Park
Asian American Studies Program, Sociolgy
2017 — James Fry
School of Music
2016 — Todd Cooke
Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics
2015 — Kalyani Chadha
College Park Scholars Media, Self, and Society, Philip Merrill College of Journalism
2014 — Ryan Curtis
2013 — Christina Hanhardt
American Studies
2012 — David A. Crocker
Public Leadership Program, College Park Scholars
2011 — Richard Bell
2010 — Gemirald Daus
Asian American Studies Program

teaching award trophy

Thank you!

We are grateful to each person who takes time to write notes about the faculty members who have enriched the undergraduate experience at UMD. Thank you to each faculty member who teaches and mentors students with dedication and distinction. We are grateful for your contributions.